Mom’s Banana Bread

Oh how I love my mom’s banana bread! One of the first things I learned to bake was quickbreads – banana, pumpkin, zucchini – served warm with a slather of cream cheese – delicious! I’m not sure why, but I hadn’t made a loaf of rich golden banana bread this winter, but I have a stash of overripe bananas on hand in my freezer at all times (a great tip my mom taught me!). So I thought I would try out her recipe, which needed only a few minor tweaks to reach real food readiness. The recipe calls for white sugar, white flour and margarine (or butter – I’ve always made mine with butter anyway). I swapped out the white sugar for local honey (replacing 1 1/4 cups of sugar with just 2/3 cup of honey – plenty sweet!), used whole wheat pastry flour in lieu of the all-purpose white flour, and used grass-fed butter.

Mom’s Banana Bread

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 C grass-fed butter, softened
  • 2/3 C raw local honey
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 c mashed banana (overripe are great – you’ll need about 5-6 medium bananas)
  • 1/2 c sour cream (or you could substitute with more mashed banana)
  • 2 3/4 C whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 t baking powder
  • 1 t baking soda
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1 C chopped unsalted walnuts

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

In a stand mixer (or using a hand mixer in a large bowl – my preference for this recipe), mix the butter and honey until well combined.

butter and honey

creamed butter and honey

Add the eggs, mashed bananas and sour cream and beat until well blended.

mashed banana

wet ingredients

In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt.

sifted flour

Add to the banana mixture, stirring just until combined.

add flour

Stir in the walnuts.

stir in walnuts

mixed batter

Spoon the batter into a large loaf pan (or two small ones) that has been greased with butter and floured on the bottom only.

batter in the loaf pan

Bake for 60-75 minutes (or about 40 minutes for smaller pans) or until loaf tests done (I use a knife and when it comes out clean – it’s done!).

Let stand in pan for 20 minutes. Transfer the loaf to a cooling rack and allow it to cool completely.

banana bread #realfood

sliced bread

Wrap in foil to store. Will keep on the counter for a few days, in the refrigerator for several weeks or up to 2 months in the freezer.

Leave a Reply

