Baked Cheeseburger Sandwich

When I was growing up, my mom used to make us something called Baked Cheeseburger Sandwich – a casserole dish inspired by the classic American cheeseburger. I even typed up the recipe and put it into a cookbook I assembled of many of my favorite recipes made by my mom before moving out on my own after college. I’ve made her recipe a few times for Jeff, and he thinks it’s a winner. It’s a simple dish and very kid-friendly (obviously!). I tweaked a few of the ingredients (such as swapping American cheese slices for organic cheddar) and made sure to buy quality, organic, unprocessed ingredients when putting together this dish. After all these years, it’s still a winner. Thanks, mom!

Baked Cheeseburger Sandwich

Serves 4

Ingredients:

  • 8 slices whole wheat bread (I bake my own)
  • grass-fed butter, for buttering bread slices (optional)
  • 1 lb ground beef or turkey
  • 1/2 medium yellow onion, chopped
  • 1/4 C chopped celery
  • 2 T dijon mustard
  • 3/4 t salt
  • 1/2 t fresh ground black pepper
  • 3/4 t garlic powder
  • 3/4 t onion powder
  • 1/4 t ground cayenne pepper
  • 1 egg, well beaten
  • 3/4 C milk (I used rice milk)
  • 1/8 t dry ground mustard
  • 1 C shredded cheddar cheese

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

In a skillet, brown the ground beef or turkey. Today I used turkey.

browning turkey

Add the onion and celery and cook for 5 minutes more.

onion and celery

Stir in the dijon and next 5 ingredients (through cayenne pepper) and remove the pan from the heat.

stirred burger mixture

In a medium-sized bowl, whisk the egg, milk and dry mustard until combined.

While the onion and celery are cooking, toast the bread slices and butter both sides, if you like. Today I decided to use the ends of the loaves of bread I baked last weekend. Much like French Toast, this recipe is perfect for using slightly stale bread. I also decided not to butter my bread slices today. Sometimes I do; sometimes I don’t. Cooking, unlike baking, is all about flexibility.

Place 4 of the toasted slices of bread in the bottom of a 9″x9″ pan. It’s ok if they overlap a little.

bread in pan

Top with the meat, followed by the shredded cheese.

topped with meat and cheese

Place the last 4 slices of toast on top of the meat and cheese mixture to finish the “sandwiches”.

top with bread

Pour the egg mixture evenly over the top of the bread.

pour egg mixture

soaked bread

Bake uncovered for 30-35 minutes. Let stand for a few minutes before serving.

Baked Cheeseburger Casserole #realfood

Baked Cheeseburger Casserole #realfood

Leave a Reply

