Whole Wheat Tortillas

I’ve put off attempting my own tortillas at home for a long time. I’m not sure why, as we use them at least weekly, and as they seem to be one of the few items at the store that I can’t seem to purchase – even organically – with fewer than 20 ingredients. So it was high time I gave it a whirl. I did a lot of reading on tortilla-making. You can use butter or lard or various oils. I settled on coconut oil because I liked that at room temperature it’s like butter and can be cut into the dough. Most recipes out there are pretty similar. I also decided to use pastry flour to try to make a lighter tasting tortilla. This recipe makes 12, but you could easily double or triple it if you’re feeding a very large group, or you could freeze them for later, so you don’t have to make a new batch the next time you have the urge for Mexican. And they were absolutely delicious. They kept well in the refrigerator, and, with just a few seconds in the microwave, were soft and pliable and ready to eat. Next time I’m making a double or triple batch so we have them ready for all of our weekly Mexican meals.

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 6 T coconut oil (plus more for cooking the tortillas)
  • 1 t baking powder
  • 1 t celtic sea salt
  • 1 C hot water (more or less)

Directions: Whisk together the flour, baking powder and salt in the bowl of your stand mixer. ingredients Add the coconut oil (no need to melt it) and “cut” the solid oil into the dry ingredients like you would cut in butter (you can also use a fork or a pastry cutter if you happen to have one). The flour should start to become crumbly. crumbly dough Place the bowl on the mixing stand with the dough hook attachment. Turn the mixer on low and gradually add the hot water, a few tablespoons at a time. mix dough Gradually increase the speed on your mixer and continuing adding water. You want the dough to just come together. I used exactly 1 cup. Once the dough pulls together, continue kneading for about 3-5 minutes until you have a nice, smooth, elastic dough. The texture actually reminded me a lot of Play-Doh. kneaded dough Press the dough into an even rectangle. Divide into 12 even pieces with a pastry cutter (or knife or pizza cutter). cut dough Roll each piece of dough into a ball and then let them rest on the counter, covered with a tea towel (or plastic wrap – but I find the tea towel easier and less wasteful) for at least 10-15 minutes. rolled dough Heat a 12″ cast iron skillet on your stovetop over medium-high heat. I was so excited – this was the first time I would be using my newly-seasoned skillet! I was a little nervous, wondering if I had seasoned it properly. Start with one ball of dough and use a rolling pin to roll it to 8-10″ in diameter. Feel free to play around a bit – making a few smaller and a few bigger to find which ones you like best. Use just a little flour on your rolling surface, being careful to shake off any excess before adding the tortilla to the skillet (nothing like burnt flour to ruin your beautiful batch of homemade tortillas!). rolled tortilla I used a little coconut oil in the bottom of my skillet before adding the first tortilla. It will start to brown and bubble and that’s when you know it’s ready to flip. It will take less than a minute to cook each tortilla, so watch carefully. Flip the tortilla over and cook on the other side, a few seconds more. tortilla in pan flipped tortilla Remove from the pan and set on a clean tea towel. Fold the towel over to keep the tortillas hot as you continue to add to your stack. whole wheat tortillas #realfood I found the best system was to roll the next tortilla while the one before it is in the pan. It requires a little back and forth between your rolling surface and the stovetop, but it made for easy work. I do recommend that you keep the unrolled balls of dough covered with a tea towel while you’re working so they don’t dry out. Serve immediately. If, like me, you’re making them on the weekend for use in a mid-week recipe, simply put them in the refrigerator until you need them. I also mentioned freezing them. I would suggest layering a piece of parchment or wax paper between each tortilla before placing them in a gallon size freezer bag. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

