Mom’s Meatloaf

In honor of Mother’s Day – a recipe from my mom, who cooked all the time when we were growing up and insisted on meals together at the table every night. My mom is a great cook, as was my grandma, and I’m lucky to have pieced together a cookbook with recipes from them both – and even a recipe or two from my wonderful mother-in-law. My mom has also been a great supporter of my real food cooking and blog, even using my recipe index to help plan her own weekly menus.

I love mom’s recipe for meatloaf and have been making it for years. It’s a simple, easy-to-follow recipe – the meatloaf isn’t stuffed with cheese or smothered in tomato sauce or bacon or anything like that. This straight-forward meatloaf, when simply served with mashed potatoes (or mashed cauliflower) and green beans, is a real plate of comfort food. I hadn’t made meatloaf since starting our real food adventure, and thought I would try tweaking the recipe just a bit, swapping out the processed ketchup and Worcestershire sauce, both of which are filled with high fructose corn syrup and other ingredients best avoided, and making sure to use high-quality real food ingredients for the rest. On the whole, the recipe is pretty real foodie-friendly anyway: ground beef, milk, an egg, breadcrumbs (I’m using my homemade recipe) and some seasonings. I chose to use 1/3 ground round (95% lean) and 2/3 ground chuck (85% lean) as those two ground meats at my local store are the two that are grass-fed/grain-finished. It’s amazing. I never really knew how different grass-fed meats and pastured pork and poultry would taste compared to the stuff I’d been buying at my old grocery store. This was one of the tastiest meatloaves I’ve ever made. It would also be a great dish to double and freeze for later.

Happy Mother’s Day to all the moms out there and most especially to my own mom. I hope you enjoy this recipe!

Mom’s Meatloaf

Ingredients:

  • 1-1.5 lbs ground beef
  • 1/3 C. milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 C homemade tomato sauce
  • 1 t. fish sauce
  • 3/4 C. homemade breadcrumbs
  • 1 t. dried parsley
  • 1 t. salt
  • 1/2 t. oregano
  • 1/4 t. black pepper

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

Place all ingredients in a bowl.

meatloaf ingredients

I usually start to mix the ingredients with a fork, then switch to my hands to really combine them together.

mixed ingredients

You will also notice my breadcrumbs have some bonus ingredients in them. I had some leftover breadcrumbs with feta, fresh chopped parsley and olive oil leftover from another recipe and thought this was the perfect way to use them up. Simple homemade breadcrumbs will work perfectly!

On a baking sheet lined with foil, form the meatloaf mixture into an even rectangular mound.

molded meatloaf

Bake for 1 hour.

Mom's Meatloaf #realfood

Slice, serve and enjoy!

Mom's meatloaf #realfood

You can save the leftovers in the refrigerator for a few days or freeze for another night.

Leave a Reply

