Buffalo Chicken Pita Pizzas

I had some leftover buffalo sauce from the spicy baked chicken wings I made last week, so I was brainstorming ways to use it up and decided personal pita pizzas might be the way to go. This is a pretty simple recipe to make, taking only a few minutes to prep. If you’re not feeling inspired to make your own pitas, you could buy them at a local store or bakery – just look for the package with the fewest ingredients possible and preferably words you can understand. Same goes for the buffalo sauce. The challenge with so many prepared ingredients is that you’ll be hard pressed to find pre-packaged items that aren’t filled with junk. It’s really quite shocking and rather frustrating, but that’s why I allocate parts of my weekends to prepping goods I need for recipes for the week ahead. I try to be smart about it, too. I chose to bake pitas this week, with the intention of using some for these pita pizzas and the rest for baked falafel with tzatziki sauce. Nothing goes to waste this way, and I can knock out ingredients for multiple recipes in one weekend morning (or afternoon…or evening).

Buffalo Chicken Pita Pizzas

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 lbs. boneless, skinless chicken breasts, poached and shredded, OR 3 cups shredded rotisserie chicken breasts
  • 3/4 recipe of homemade buffalo sauce (about 1.5 cups) – get the recipe
  • 6 homemade pitas – get the recipe
  • 6-8 oz blue cheese
  • 1/2 red onion, thinly sliced
  • salt and pepper
  • dried oregano
  • fresh cilantro (optional)

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 425 degrees Fahrenheit.

Combine the shredded chicken breast with a 1/2 cup of the buffalo sauce in a bowl and toss until all the chicken is coated.

poached chicken

shredded chicken

chicken with sauce

Brush the remaining sauce onto each of the pitas (don’t mind my triangular-shaped pita. I forgot to form my dough into balls before rolling. I like to think of these as rustic pitas!).

sauced pitas

Top the pitas with the chicken. Sprinkle them with even amounts of blue cheese and red onion. Season with salt, pepper, and light sprinkle of oregano.

baked buffalo chicken pita pizzas

Place the pitas in the oven and bake until the cheese is melted, the chicken is heated through and the pitas are toasty, about 10 minutes.

buffalo chicken pita pizzaCut into wedges and serve immediately. I like to eat mine with a little ranch dip, too – it’s tasty with those nice crunchy, spicy crusts.

One more note – when I heated these in my toaster oven for leftovers, I added a little chopped fresh cilantro – it was delicious! The perfect complement to these pizzas.

2 thoughts on “Buffalo Chicken Pita Pizzas

Leave a Reply

