Spicy Baked Chicken Wings

I didn’t become a chicken wing fan until my late twenties, and now I know why people love them so much! We enjoyed ordering them out at restaurants, served with creamy blue cheese dressing and crisp celery, but I had never tried making them at home. Frying is something I’ve always kept off-limits in my house. Besides the mess (and sometimes lingering smell), I feel fried foods are best left at restaurants. But when I came across this recipe for baked wings, I knew I had to try making my own version at home with good quality ingredients. And Jeff said he liked my buffalo sauce better than Frank’s Red Hot. Now THAT’S a compliment!

Baked Chicken Wings
(modified from Eat Live Paleo)

Marinade:

  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • juice of 1 lime
  • 3 T coconut oil, melted
  • 1 T raw honey
  • 1/2 t cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 t smoked paprika
  • salt & pepper to taste

Directions:

When I first brought the wings home I was so confused – they were big! Not the perfectly cut pieces of chicken that arrived slathered in sauce at the restaurant. But fear not! I quickly identified what needed to be done. With a sharp knife, I easily made a cut at the joint to separate the drumette and the small wing (it’s easy to do as it’s just cartilage). I then trimmed off the tips (they’re too small and will burn, and this makes for a prettier wing) and saved them in the freezer for my next batch of bone broth.

whole wing

making the first cut

making the second cut

cut wings

cut wings ready to boil

Bring a large pot of water to a boil. Add the drumettes and wings and boil for about 8 minutes. Drain the wings and set them aside to cool.

In a small bowl, mix together the ingredients for the marinade. Pour the marinade in a one-gallon plastic bag.

marinade

Once the boiled wings have cooled (I rinse mine under cold water and drain), add them to the bag with the marinade and mix well to coat all of the pieces.

wings in marinade

Place the bag in the refrigerator and allow the wings to marinate for at least 30 minutes, preferably an hour or more if time allows.

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees Fahrenheit.

Place an oven-safe wire rack on top of a baking sheet lined with foil (make sure to use the foil – I did not and my pan was impossible to clean!). Remove the wings from the bag and discard the marinade. Set the wings on the rack in a single layer and season them with a little more salt and ground pepper.

wings on rack

Bake the wings for 30 minutes. Flip the pieces over and bake for an additional 10 minutes.

spicy baked chicken wings

Remove the pan from the oven and serve immediately. We love saucy buffalo wings in our house, so we tossed ours in homemade buffalo sauce (recipe follows). Serve with carrot and celery sticks and my homemade blue cheese dip.

sauced wings

carrots and celery

homemade blue cheese dip

Buffalo Sauce
(modified from Domestic Fits)

  • 3/4 C white wine or apple cider vinegar
  • 1 T chili powder
  • 1/2 t smoked paprika
  • 1 t sweet paprika
  • 1 t onion powder
  • 1 t garlic powder
  • 1 t cayenne powder
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 3 cloves garlic, finely minced
  • 1 T raw honey
  • 1 t arrowroot starch
  • 5 T unsalted butter

Add all ingredients in a medium saucepan and whisk together until well combined.

sauce ingredientsCook over medium-high heat, whisking continuously, until the sauce just barely starts to bubble and thicken, about 5 minutes.

cooked sauceRemove from heat and toss with the wings (or store in an air-tight bottle if making in advance and keep it refrigerated).

One thought on “Spicy Baked Chicken Wings

  1. Pingback: Buffalo Chicken Pita Pizzas | Roudabush Real Food Revolution

Leave a Reply

