Meal Planning: Week of April 13

After a week of traveling, I was feeling a little out of the groove of things, what with catching up on work email and projects, not to mention the generally gloomy weather back here in the Berkshires at the beginning of the week didn’t help. So Monday night, with the rain beginning to fall outside, I gathered up some old cookbooks and recipes for some bedtime reading (and meal planning!). I took a look at this week’s Berkshire Organics baskets and noticed a number of ingredients in the Veggies Only basket that would be perfect for an Asian-inspired dish and my new favorite Greek salad that I threw together on a whim last weekend. It was so good, we’re having it again! The Veggies Only basket will also help me continue my mission of incorporating more veggies into all meals. So what’s in this week’s basket? Take a look:

Veggies Only Basket

Here’s what’s on this week’s dinner menu:

  • Greek Salad with Homemade Vinaigrette and Whole Wheat Pitas and Hummus
  • Wonton Soup and Spicy Garlic Broccoli
  • Pesto, Fresh Mozzarella and Spicy Sausage Pita Pizzas
  • Veggie Quesadillas
  • Broccoli, Shrimp and Pesto Orzo

I’m also planning to make these Easter treats and I might attempt these homemade fruit snacks this week.

When I went to pick up my beautiful basket full of produce, I noticed some beautiful local apples as well as Minneolas in the market that I couldn’t resist picking up, as well as some fresh mozzarella made in nearby Bennington, VT.

Berkshire Organics basketAs usual, I finished up the rest of my shopping at Guido’s and am happy to have a fully-stocked refrigerator and pantry once again!

On a related note, I have been asked why my meal planning posts only includes dinners, and I suppose that’s because I don’t do much planning when it comes to breakfast and lunch. We almost always have a cooked breakfast – I’ll make scrambled eggs with leftover veggies in the fridge, or we’ll have eggs over easy (my favorite) with a slice of homemade whole wheat toast with a little organic butter. We also frequently eat Bob’s Red Mill quick-cooking oats with a combination of a few of these mix-ins: fresh or dried fruit, honey, maple syrup, cinnamon, chopped nuts, chia seeds and ground flaxseed. Sometimes – more often in the summer or when I work out in the morning – I’ll make a fruit smoothie in the blender using almond milk, frozen fruit, ripe bananas and ground flaxseeds, toasted wheat germ and/or chia seeds.

For lunches, we frequently take leftovers from dinners cooked earlier in the week, which makes packing lunch in the morning a snap. I also keep sliced organic lunch meat on hand for sandwiches made on homemade whole wheat bread and I regularly make homemade hummus which I take for lunch with fresh vegetables and homemade pita or crackers. We usually have a piece of fruit with lunch – apples and oranges or fresh berries when they’re in season.

I always pack a snack for work, too, usually a banana, a homemade granola bar, or plain yogurt with some fresh fruit or honey.

I take advantage of the weekend to help me get prepared for the week. Saturdays are usually reserved for shopping and on Sundays I might choose a more complicated dish for dinner and I’ll do some baking or other prep for the week (hummus, granola bars, etc.).

Time to get in the kitchen!

Leave a Reply

