Rosemary Crackers

After making homemade whole grain crackers, I thought I would branch out and try a new recipe. I have some friends who are gluten-free and thought I would experiment with almond meal/flour. I found this recipe for Rosemary Crackers on Elana’s Pantry and wanted to give them a try. The ingredient list was simple and rosemary happens to be one of my favorite herbs (I love the look and smell of it so much that we even included rosemary in the boutonniere’s the men wore in our wedding).

Rosemary Crackers
(shared from Elana’s Pantry)

Ingredients:

  • 1 ¾ cups blanched almond flour
  • ½ teaspoon celtic sea salt
  • 2 tablespoons fresh rosemary, finely chopped
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 egg

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Finely chop the rosemary.

whole rosemary

rosemary leaves

chopped rosemary

In a large bowl, combine almond flour, salt and rosemary.

all ingredients

In a medium bowl, whisk together olive oil and egg.

egg and olive oil

whisked egg and olive oil

Stir wet ingredients into almond flour mixture until thoroughly combined.

all ingredients combined

Roll the dough into a ball and press between 2 sheets of parchment paper to ⅛ inch thickness.

dough ball

rolled dough

Remove top piece of parchment paper and transfer the bottom piece with rolled out dough onto baking sheet.

Cut dough into 2-inch squares with a knife or pizza cutter.

sliced dough

crackers going into oven

Bake at 350° for 12-15 minutes, until lightly golden.

baked crackers

Let crackers cool on baking sheet for 30 minutes, then serve.

RRFR Notes: I like these crackers. They were pretty simple to make. They seemed a bit large to me though, so I might even cut them smaller than the suggested 24 crackers next time. Also, 55 calories per cracker is really on the high side by my book, though I realize that’s the result of using almond flour. As someone who is not gluten-intolerant, I might reserve this recipe for someone who is absolutely craving a crunchy cracker but can’t eat gluten. Post-baking, I did a little online research on the nutrition differences between almond flour and whole wheat flour and came across this interesting read. So this may be the first and last bag of almond flour I purchase.

Yield: 24 crackers. Nutrition Information: Each cracker has 55 calories, 5 g of fat, 2 g of protein, and 1 g of fiber.

Leave a Reply

