Homemade Coconut Bark

I am not someone who typically keeps sweets in the house. Candy and cookies are usually a rare treat, but with my new found passion for real food, I’ve been inspired to bake some treats at home. There is one candy in particular that Jeff and I are both quite fond of, though we fall on opposite sides of the fence: He loves Almond Joy; I love Mounds.

A few weeks ago, I tried out this recipe for Almond Joy Bark.

Almond Joy Bark

I thought it was just ok, but Jeff really enjoyed it.

But then I remembered a recipe my friend Tracey over at Restoring Vitality posted for homemade coconut bark, and I knew I had to try it. I started by making half the recipe below, using a 9×9 pan, just to test it out.

Paleo Coconut Bark
(shared from Restoring Vitality)

Ingredients:

  • 1 C shredded unsweetened coconut
  • 2 C melted coconut oil
  • 1/4 C raw local honey
  • 2 bars 85% organic dark chocolate
  • Celtic sea salt

Directions:

Take 1 cup of shredded unsweetened coconut and stir in 2 cups of melted coconut oil and 1/4 cup raw local honey.

ingredients

measuring coconut oil

adding honey

shredded coconut

Place in a foil lined 9 x 13 pan and put in the freezer to harden (about 20-30 minutes).

pouring coconut mixture

Once the coconut layer has hardened in the freezer, melt 2 bars of 85% organic dark chocolate in a double boiler. (RRFR Tip: Make a double boiler on your stovetop by placing a glass bowl over a pot on the stove. Just add a little water to the bottom of the pot and make sure the bowl isn’t touching the water. Bring the water to a simmer and stir the chocolate in the bowl until it melts.)

double boiler

chocolate in double boiler

Pour the chocolate immediately over the hardened crust, tilting the pan to cover the coconut layer completely.

hardened coconut layer

pouring chocolate

Put it back in the freezer for a few minutes to let the chocolate cool and then sprinkle a pinch of Celtic sea salt on top before the chocolate fully hardens (sprinkle too soon and it will dissolve!). Don’t skip this step, though; the salt is what makes this recipe shine.

sprinkle with salt

Return the pan to the freezer to let it finish setting. Once fully set, I took the sheet of bark out of the pan and cut it into squares on a cutting board. I then returned the pieces to a container, separating layers with parchment.

whole bark pieces of bark

Notes for Next Time: This recipe is really fantastic. Easy to do and delicious. Next time around, I would do a better job stirring my honey into the coconut oil. I found it didn’t dissolve as much as I thought and there were areas that had more honey than others. Also, I would line the pan with parchment paper. I was peeling bits of foil from the candy and I think the parchment might stick less. Really delicious – hope you enjoy!

Nutrition information. Serves 20. Each serving has 300 calories, 30 g of fat, 1 g of protein, and 2 g of fiber.

2 thoughts on “Homemade Coconut Bark

  1. Pingback: My First Berkshire Organics Basket | Roudabush Real Food Revolution

  2. Pingback: Kitchen Tip: Rescue Stale Brownies | Roudabush Real Food Revolution

Leave a Reply

