Did Somebody Say Wheat Thins?

baked_CrackersWe don’t eat a lot of crackers, but when we do, we always eat Wheat Thins. Or we used to. They were a staple in our pantry and, much like English muffins, were not something I thought I could actually make at home. By myself. In my oven.

But thanks to the wonder that is Pinterest, I quickly found myself perusing cracker recipes until I stumbled upon a recipe that claimed to produce crackers that would put my beloved Wheat Thins to shame (also on my future to-do list are these Rosemary Crackers and these Homemade Graham Crackers). After tackling homemade bagels and English muffins, I was up for the challenge.

These crackers were easy to make and, better yet, delicious. I had my husband, Jeff, do a side by side taste test with Wheat Thins and there was no comparison. These crackers are full of whole grain goodness, including ground flaxseed. Before baking them in the oven, you can also sprinkle them with wheat germ, like I did, for some extra added goodness. Enjoy these crackers with homemade hummus (made with organic beans) or with organic cheese, preferably from a local cheesemaker if you’re lucky to have one nearby. One of my favorite local cheesemakers here in the Berkshires is Cricket Creek Farm.

About the Recipe

I followed the recipe to the T with the exception of the sugar. Feel free to sub with organic cane sugar. I made these a few weeks ago so I honestly can’t recall exactly what I did! I’m guessing I omitted it altogether, or put in a little local raw honey.

Homemade Whole Whole Grain Crackers
(from A Little Bit Crunchy A Little Bit Rock and Roll)

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups old fashioned rolled oats
1 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup wheat germ
2 tablespoons ground flax seed
1 1/2 tablespoons sugar
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
6 tablespoons oil (I used extra virgin olive oil)
1/2 cup water

Directions:

Combine dry ingredients in a food processor. Turn on the food processor for about 20 seconds to mix all the ingredients. Leave the processor on and drizzle in the oil and water. Continue mixing until well combined.

cracker_dough

Delicious cracker dough, ready to be rolled out!

Divide between two large cookie sheets, place a piece of waxed paper on top and roll until thin.

Sprinkle with kosher salt, additional wheat germ and any of the following: garlic powder, sesame seeds, poppy seeds, cracked pepper, or dried onion.

rolled_dough

Roll the dough out thin. I flipped over my baking sheet and used a rolling pin to make them the perfect thickness.

Cover with waxed paper again and give one more roll, lightly with the rolling pin.

Cut into squares with a pizza wheel and bake at 350F for about 20 minutes. Remove any done crackers and place the center crackers in for another minute or so. Cool on the sheet pan on top of a cooling rack. Store in an air tight container.

cut_crackers

Once you roll out the dough, use a pizza wheel to cut them into squares. Once cut, it’s easy to pick them up with your fingers and separate them a little on the pan.

3 thoughts on “Did Somebody Say Wheat Thins?

  1. Just made these – they are good..but I am missing the crunch of wheat thins. I rolled them as thin as I could possibly get. any thoughts?

    Like

    • Meg – yeah, I think there must be some processed food secret to a super crunchy cracker. My thinner rolled crackers were definitely crunchier than the ones I rolled thicker. Not being a baking expert, I headed to good ole Google to see what I could find. I landed on this article – in which the author discusses similar issues with homemade crackers (and some tips). She does, however, reference a crispy Alton Brown cracker, so I went on a hunt for that recipe. I found it, but it calls for 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 all purpose. I’d be interested in trying it myself and perhaps substituting the all-purpose for whole wheat pastry flour. What do you think about that? Worth a try!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Seedy Crispy Crackers | Roudabush Real Food Revolution

Leave a Reply

